Local Officeholders

Jane Knodell, Burlington City Council President, Central District 

Facebook Email Jane-Knodell

Jane Knodell has lived in the Old North End of Burlington for the last 24 years, including 14 years as a Ward 2 City Councilor, 6 years as the Chair of the Wheeler Community School Advisory Group, and a Bike Path Task Force member. Jane has served on a variety of non-profit and municipal boards, including those of CCTV, the Vermont Community Loan Fund, the Vermont Reinvestment Association, and the Burlington Housing Authority. She has been a member of the faculty of the University of Vermont since 1986, and has served the University in a variety of administrative roles, most recently as the very first female Provost and Senior Vice President in UVM history. In 2013, Jane was reelected to the City Council after a four year break.

Max Tracy, Burlington City Councilor, Ward 2Max Tracy

Twitter Facebook Email
Max has lived in Burlington for 9 years, the last 6 in Ward 2. Max was first elected to the City Council in 2012. He is a UVM alum and currently works at the University as an international admissions counselor. As a Councilor, Max has focused on public safety, getting the city’s finances in order, affordable housing, and developing enhanced bike/pedestrian infrastructure. He Chairs the Transportation, Utilities, and Energy Committee while also serving on the License and Human Resources/Institutions Committees.

Sara Giannoni, Burlington City Councilor, Ward 3

Twitter Facebook Email

Sara is a resident of Burlington for the last 10 years, and a long-time community service professional who works as family shelter staff for COTS. Sara served in AmeriCorps, worked with struggling individuals at Mercy Connections, and provided outreach for the city’s Lead Program. She is a dedicated volunteer who serves on the wards 2 and 3 Neighborhood Planning Assemblies. Sara is also a member of the Old North End Neighborhood Safety Team, a reading buddy through Everybody Wins!, a hospice volunteer, and a mediator for small claims court. As a trained mediator, Sara believes in bringing people together to create solutions that meet the needs of all involved.


Stephanie Thompson, Springfield Selectboardstephanie thompson


Stephanie has served on the Springfield Selectboard since 2010, and has acted as Vice Chair since 2013. She is a life-long Springfield resident, and is a member of the Progressive Party State Coordinating Committee, in addition to being her town chair. Stephanie is the Executive Director of the Springfield Prevention Coalition. She is currently completing her thesis for her Master’s Degree in Public Administration from Norwich, and seeks to shine a stronger light on issues of poverty, opiate addiction, the high cost of education, the need for more green energy solutions, and anything else that will improve the quality of life for all Vermonters.

Jeremy Hansen, Berlin Selectboardhansen_promo_1_cropped_small

Email 279-6054

Jeremy Hansen is the Vice Chair of the Berlin Selectboard, Chair of the Washington County Progressive Party, and the Chair of the Progressive Party’s state Elections Committee. He is also a former candidate for State Representative in 2014.

Steve May, Richmond Selectboard

Email Facebook

Steve May was elected to a two-year term on the Richmond Selectboard in March of 2016, and currently sits on the Recreation Committee and is the stevemaytown of Richmond’s representative to the Lake Iroquois Recreation District board. Steve has been appointed the town’s liaison to the Richmond Free Library, Energy and Planning committees and the Planning Review Board. In his professional life, Steve is a clinical social worker in private practice at Otter Creek Associates in Burlington. The majority of his clinical work has been devoted to addressing dual diagnosis (substance abuse and mental health) clients and their families. Steve has worked in the substance misuse community in a variety of clinical settings across Vermont, is the former National Director of State Affairs for the Hemophilia Federation of America. He is also the former Vice President of the Champlain Valley Central Labor Council and a former member of the Vermont AFL-CIO Executive Board.

Other Burlington Officials:
  • Wendy Coe, Ward Clerk, Ward 2
  • Annie Schneider, Inspector of Elections, Ward 2
  • Kit Andrews, Inspector of Elections, Ward 3
  • Mellisa Kane, Inspector of Elections Ward 3

Comments are closed